Welcome to the Senior Psychiatrists!

Senior Psychiatrists, Inc., founded in 2012, is an outgrowth of the American Psychiatric Association (APA) "Lifers." Prior to 2012, the “Lifers were managed by the APA Foundation. Today, the Senior Psychistrists, Inc. is an “Allied Organization” to APA and has representation in the APA Assembly.

Membership in the Senior Psychiatrists, Inc. is open to any member of the American Psychiatric Association who is a Life Member, Life Fellow, or Life Distinguished Fellow. There are approximately 8,000 members of APA who have Life status, and this represents about 20% of the APA membership. The organization is now poised for growth and has put the infrastructure in place to reach out it expanding potential membership base. For more information, see our About Us page.  Register for your free membership today!

Meet Our Donors

Stephen C. Scheiber, MD

Albert C. Gaw, MD
Eleanor Lavretsky MD

John McIntyre, MD
Quentin Smith, MD

Jeffrey Akaka, MD
Nigel Bark
Norman A. Clemens, M.D.
Jack Drescher
Albert C. Gaw, MD, Inc.
John L. Harrington, MD
Frederick Jacobsen
Alan Levenson
Francis Lu
Laurence H. Miller, MD
Lee Park
Stephen Rachlin
Arnold Robbins, M.D.
Nat Sandler, MD
Donald Sherak
Diane K. Shrier
Joseph Silverman, MD
Robert Steinmuller
Michael Stevens
Ann Sullivan
Garry M. Vickar, MD, PC
Albert V. Vogel, MD
Carl Wahlstrom
Paul Wick, MD

Special Thanks to All of our Donors!

Donate Today!

Senior Psychiatrists appreciates donations of any amount.  As a 501(c)(3) organization, all donations are fully tax deductible. 

Click here to donate. 


A Special Message from PRMS Regarding COVID-19

On behalf of the entire team at PRMS, we hope you are staying safe and healthy.

We recognize that there will be an increased need for mental health counseling and services due to the COVID-19 crisis. Your professional liability insurance policy through the PRMS Psychiatrists’ Program covers you for the rendering of psychiatric services as a volunteer in the state where you are licensed.  As a policy holder, your volunteer hours will not count against your total practice hours.

  • For further information about your coverage, please contact us via email at clientservices@prms.com or phone at 800-245-3333 and ask to speak with an account advisor.
  • For further information about state-specific guidelines for providing volunteer services, please contact your district branch.

Toll-free: (800) 245-3333

PRMS COVID-19 Third Risk Management Alert

Click here to view (pdf)

Upcoming events

  • Check back soon for information on our 2021 Events!

Mentoring Program

Sign up to be a mentor to another psychiatrist
Sign up to be a mentee (to be assigned a mentor)

Sponsored by PRMS 

What’s New

New Regulation on Information Blocking Under the Cures Act as of April 5th

Click here to view resource detailing what we know about this incredibly complex regulation.

Vaccine.gov Website is Now Live

CMS would like to make you aware that the federally supported website that makes it easier for individuals to access COVID-19 vaccines is now live. Vaccines.gov – powered by the trusted VaccineFinder brand – is available in English and Spanish, with high accessibility standard, and will help connect Americans with locations offering vaccines near them. In addition to the website, people in the U.S. are also now able to utilize a text message service, available in both English and Spanish. People can text their ZIP code to 438829 (GETVAX) and 822862 (VACUNA) to find three locations nearby that have vaccines available.

APA Statement on Violence in Washington on January 6, 2021

The APA issued a statement addressing the violence in Washington and offering mental health resources for those who may need it. Please see the full statement here.

2020 Berson Award Recipient Announced!

Aaron T. Beck, MD (pictured right) is the recipient of the 2020 Berson Award. Congratulations to Aaron T. Beck who has been selected to receive the Berson Senior Psychiatrist Award. The Person Senior Psychiatrist Award acknowledges a senior member who has made a significant contribution to psychiatry. The award was made possible by a grant from the estate of Harold E. Person, M.D.

The award is presented by the American Psychiatric Association.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software